A lesson learned.

So last Thursday I took an unexpected trip to the hospital. Well I guess technically it was Friday morning at 3am. I had been feeling unwell all day with a sore throat and sore body. I woke up in a panic because my back was killing me and I kept having to go pee. It was seriously an unreasonable amount of urine. I hadn’t been drinking excessively and even after I went to bed I kept having to go. Plus my throat was damn near swollen shut, anyways, I called my dad freaking out. He took me to the ER. I explained my symptoms and got admitted. Come to find out, I got the flu. But not just any flu… I have two types of flu at once. So that explains the crazy mixture of symptoms: sore throat, congestion, dehydration, fever, nausea, vomiting, frequent urination, muscle pain, weakness, and fatigue. I honestly thought I was having like bladder failure or something. I had so many symptoms it was scary.

Life isn’t like tv. On House, or ER, or Grey’s Anatomy you never see anyone come in with the common cold or just the flu. It’s always something rare and life threatening. The media over exaggerates sickness and diseases. The doctors at the hospital were telling me how many people come in with the sniffles and think they have ridiculous things wrong with them like brain tumors and shit when in reality they just have a cold. And some people who actually have serious things wrong don’t come in because they think it’s something simple.

I usually never go to the doctors when I feel sick because mostly I know it’s just a cold or whatever. But I had honestly never been that freaked out by my symptoms before. And I’ll admit I’ve been researching the Grey’s Anatomy series on Netflix and all I could think of was how I was having organ failure. That’s what led to my panicked attack about being sick. I mean I guess it’s rare to have two strains of the flu at once but he said the treatment is the same and it doesn’t cause any issues to be worried about.

I guess I learned my lesson! I made myself feel even worse by overreacting… which I tend to do fairly often. For now I will try my best to take things as they are and not exaggerate them in my head. And this can be applied to other things as well, like something someone might say that you read too much into or even a look someone gives you that probably wasn’t a look at all, just their face.  Over the past few months I’ve been feeling really angry at the whole world. Hating everyone and feeling sorry for myself is just tiring. I’m so miserable all the time. And I’m becoming so antisocial. People at work are always asking if I want to do something and I immediately look for a nice way to say no. I should really try to stop doing that. I’m just perpetuating my own misery.

I guess that’s all for now.

Ps. My cat is doing great, she’s growing up so much… being less crazy but still has her personality. She just came and nudged her way under my Kindle so she can sit in my lap then put her head in my hands so I can pet her. Such an attention whore she is :), but I don’t mind.

Leave a Reply!

